Frida as inspiration

There are so many mexican artists that deserves to be honored and remembered. We have the work of Orozco (my favorite), Siqueiros, the Lagarto brothers… but the whole world is crazy about Frida Kahlo. But, why? Why everybody loves Frida´s paints?

I have a friend who told me once: “Yeah, she was an artist and I can´t deny the quality of her work but I really don´t like it. I think that Frida was a selfish woman with an imagination full of traumas. The work is good but, let´s be sincere, she´s overrated”.

In the position of a kick-ass art critic… yes, maybe Frida is overrated, but I can´t imagine a mexican decoration without Frida´s elements. The colors, the surrealistic ingredient that carry us to her house, the blue house, in Coyoacán. I can´t explain it but Frida is an essential part of my own perspective of Mexico. Maybe because she was able to capture the mexican experience in her life, but also in her paints.

I´m not a big fan of Frida but I feel her like a fundamental part of my being as a mexican woman.

 

 

:::::::: Here you have this beautiful handmade wallet made by CHUNCHITOS HANDMADE (from Monterrey, Mexico). You can found more of CHUNCHITOS in Facebook and Etsy ::::::::::::::::

 

About Akira Sunshin

Writer (because writing is the only way for me to say what I want to say. I´m a writer by trade). Pocket Philosopher (I studied Philosophy but I can´t say that I´m a Philosopher, how can I? That will be decided by my readers, my followers, by a bunch of people in the top of the academic world and after all, by history). Comic reader / Scriptwriter / Illustrator (Well, like I said before, I´m writer by trade but scripwriting for comics is quite enjoyable to me. I love comics and I started completely independent doing some stories and drawings. I don´t like my draws but some people think that I have an interesting style, Anyway, I really would like to find an illustrator to be my partner making some good comics), Designer / Graphic Artist (Yeah, maybe, but I learnt all that I know by myself and with a little help from my friends. I love design and arts. I think that the word is an image and image is part of this infinite text that we call "Universe"). Teacher (Teaching is the most satisfying job. I really enjoy the knowledge sharing and I believe that ignorance is the real guilty of the human pain. Maybe knowledge hurts, but ignorance kills).

Leave a comment